My friends and I were very fortunate to be able to join this year’s TMBT. I signed up for the 30km distance while my friends Allan and Pat registered for the 50km and 100km, respectively.

DCIM100GOPROG0117557.
With Allan and Pat at Tanjung Aru Beach
3a-30k-tmbt-2016-race-course-map
The 30km race course

We planned this trip earlier this year and booked our flights last July. We flew to Sabah, Malaysia on the 26th of October. Race kit claiming was scheduled on the 28th and the actual race took place on the 29th.

During our spare time, we bought the supplies we need plus explored the city a bit.

RACE DAY: October 29, 2016

My friends had to leave before 3AM for their bus transfers to the start line at Lingkubang. Meanwhile, I prepared my things, changed into my running outfit, and waited until 5am. I left our lodge and went to Mega D’ Aru where I boarded the van which took us, 30km runners, to the start line.

img_3744
The 30km race began just before 8AM. Around 200+ runners made their way up to Kebayau – the first water station.
The 2nd water station was at Tambatuan, which was also the finish line for 12km race. The weather was a little cloudy at this point.

img_3754
The locals playing their native instruments at KM12

We had to cross several hanging bridges all throughout this race. The road to the third and final aid station was long. I felt a little hungry at this point and luckily, there were locals who were selling food at one of the small communities along the route.

14971535_10209929057957378_1969866941_o
Photo credit to the owner
14958201_10209929057837375_809151618_o
Photo credit to the owner

At the last water station, a lady runner candidly told me, “We’re heading now to the difficult part of the race.” I smiled but deep inside I felt nervous and happy at the same time (because this means the finish line is near).

The last 2kms to the finish line at Pekan Nabalu was epic! It rained and the trails were muddy. You have to keep your balance or grip the roots of the plants to push yourself up the mountains (though it was motivating to hear the music at the finish line haha)

After two summits and 300 meters of pavement, I finally reached Pekan Nabalu! I was welcomed by the locals and the race organizers. And then I went straight to the buffet and indulge on some spaghetti and chicken.

img_3786
My mantra in life lol
