As the name states, it is moving at a fast pace along a path that is not made of concrete. Trails can be situated up the mountains, on dirt roads, by the seashore, or through rocky ridges.

HOW IS TRAIL RUNNING DIFFERENT FROM ROAD RUNNING?

Aside from the clear difference that runners run on a pathway composed mainly of dirt, trail running requires runners to use different sets of muscles in tackling the challenges along the way. The shoes, outfits, and running gears used for these two sports differ as well.

A BACKSTORY:

I started climbing mountains in 2008. I was careless back then and I would usually have tripped over on something during hikes. As I managed to control my steps and balance while trekking, I discovered that I can jog while carrying a pack. There were instances that my friends and I were able  to climb up a mountain at a very quick pace. I ran my first 6km on trails in 2012 at the Merrell Adventure Run held in Timberland, but it was only in 2013 that I finally learned about the sports called “trail running”.

THE LOCAL TRAIL RUNNING SCENE:

I came to realize that trail running scene in the Philippines was already a hit as early as 2008. The North Face was organizing the 50kms and 100kms that year. On the other hand, the brand Salomon started introducing footwear solely for trail running by 2013. It was also during this year that they tapped Kilian Jornet and other popular trail runners abroad to be their brand ambassadors. Up north, the team behind FrontRunner Magazine had started organizing 100-miler events dubbed as the Hardcore Hundres Miles. In 2014, I ran my first 50kms during the TNF Thrill of the Trail in Baguio. Trail running really took my idea of outdoor activities to new heights.

Photo credit: Edmund Cura

